The Madison Clinic

for Pediatric Diabetes at UCSF

New website coming this summer!

Our aim is to improve the lives of our patients and their families and to ease the burden of diabetes through compassionate and individualized management with emphasis on education, empowerment, and use of advanced technologies.

The Madison Clinic brings together under one roof a team of endocrinologists, clinical psychologists, nurses, diabetes educators, social workers, dietitians, and a dedicated administrative staff, led by the Clinic Director, Dr. Saleh Adi, to create a Center of Excellence. Our translational research program is conducting cutting edge clinical trials that aim at preventing as well as curing diabetes. Thanks to our dedicated diabetes researchers and clinicians, U.S. News & World Report ranked UCSF endocrinology and diabetes fourth in the nation for 2011-2012.

The need for tighter control of blood sugars has led to exponential improvements in the way we monitor blood sugar levels and deliver insulin. Sophisticated pumps and glucose sensors are becoming standard tools, and newer insulins and other drugs are likely to become available very soon.

With all of these significant advances, it is increasingly important that we have a highly skilled team of diabetes health care providers who deliver the latest in diabetes education to help optimize overall disease management.

Our clinical team includes a dually trained pediatric and adult endocrinologist who will lead our efforts to establish a unique transition program for older teens and young adult patients.

Faculty

Saleh Adi, MD
Medical Director

Madison Clinic for
Pediatric Diabetes
saleh.adi@ucsf.edu

Stephen Gitelman, MD
Director

Pediatric Diabetes Program
sgitelma@peds.ucsf.edu

Korey Hood, PhD
Clinical Psychologist

hoodk@peds.ucsf.edu

Roger Long, MD
Pediatric and adult endocrinologist

Roger.Long@ucsf.edu

Stephen Rosenthal, MD
Professor of Pediatrics

rosenthals@peds.ucsf.edu

Srinath Sanda, MD
Pediatric and adult endocrinologist

Srinath.Sanda@ucsf.edu

Jenise C. Wong, MD, PhD
Pediatric endocrinologist

WongJC@peds.ucsf.edu

Allied Health Partners

Marcela Arregui Reyes, MS, PMP
Transition Coordinator

Marcela.arreguireyes@ucsf.edu

Kathy Breen, RN, CDE
Pediatric Diabetes
Study Coordinator

breenk@peds.ucsf.edu

Jeanne Buchanan, RN, CDE
Pediatric Diabetes Educator

buchanan@peds.ucsf.edu

Nicole deButts, RN, MSN, PNP
Pediatric Diabetes Nurse Practitioner

debuttsn@peds.ucsf.edu

Theresa Garnero, APRN, BC-ADM, MSN, CDE
Practice Manager

Theresa.Garnero@ucsf.edu

Theresa Lee, RN, CDEc
Pediatric Diabetes Educator

LeeT2@peds.ucsf.edu

Mary McDonell, RN, MSN, CDE,
Pediatric Diabetes Educator

mcdonellm@peds.ucsf.edu

Colette O’Brien, MSN,
CPNP/CDE
Pediatric Diabetes Nurse Practitioner

obrienc@peds.ucsf.edu

Jason Rosenbury, MSW
Social Worker

jason.rosenbury@ucsfmedctr.org

Sherri Shafer, RD, CDE
Nutritionist

sherri.shafer@ucsfmedctr.org

Afroz Subedar, MS, RD, CDE
Dietitian

Afroz.Subedar@ucsf.edu

Staff

Richard Coto
Administrative Assistant & Scheduler

cotor@peds.ucsf.edu

Kathleen Fraser
Clinical Trials Recruitment Coordinator

kfraser@diabetes.ucsf.edu

Nancy Lei
Medical Assistant

Nancy.Lei@ucsf.edu

Clarissa Quan
Diabetes Clinical Ambassador

quanc@peds.ucsf.edu